Vietin vielä tänään kotipäivän, jotta lievä kevätflunssani vihdoin parantuisi. Päivä meni kuitenkin vaalityön merkeissä, sillä olin kutsunut kotiini Abbien kautta tuntemiani gambialaisia ja heidän ystäviään.

In English below.

Houkuttimena käytin taatelikakkua, johon gambialaiset ystäväni ovat todella ihastuneet :D. Sitä lähti myös mukaan kotiin. Lupasin myös kertoa Suomen vaalisysteemistä.

Mielenkiintoa herätti varsinkin se, miten kunnan/kaupunginvaltuutetut valitaan puolueiden ja muiden ryhmittymien ehdokaslistoilta. Painotin myös äänestämisen tärkeyttä. Viesti meni perille.

Tein aamulla myös englanninkielisen esitteen.

I spent the day still at home, so that my mild flu finally would be healed. However, I didn't forget my duties as a candidate in municipal elections. I invited some of my Gambian friends to inform them about the electoral system and how important it is to vote.

As a teaser I used my famous "taatelikakku" (date cake), which my Gambian friends have really fallen in love with :D. I also promised to tell them about the Finnish electoral system.

They were interested especially in the way how the councilors are elected when there are several political parties and other groupings and they all have long lists of candidates in one constituency. I also emphasized the importance of voting. The message got through.

In the morning I finalized my brochure in English.

CalledtoCare.jpg